Life together

“Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” 2 Cor. 4:16-18

This is a verse that one of my dear friends from my former small group at The Summit recently reminded me of. I love this passage! Such truth in a world that is constantly changing.

I don’t know about you, but I have problems “fixing my eyes” on eternity rather than focusing on my “light and temporary troubles.” It’s a battle to view life in light of eternity, especially when I easily get consumed with everyday circumstances: where to live, what Ben & I should do with our lives, what to wear, who is going to win American Idol. Ok, maybe I’m not consumed with the final two, but I easily get consumed with the first two – And I can allow it to stress me out!

It’s during these moments, that I’m thankful for friends who encourage me with Scripture and remind me of truth. I’m the type of person who every now and then (more often than I’d like) needs a quick smack of truth in the face. I need a dear friend, who knows my weaknesses, to gently point them out through encouragement, Scripture, or a nice blunt convo. It makes me grateful that this Christian life wasn’t meant to be lived individually. Confession and correction, within the context of community, are two elements found in Gospel-centered living that help me to keep my focus during these transitional, yet transformational, moments.

I’ve definitely missed my Summit small group since I moved over to my hubby’s church. A LOT. But I’m really encouraged because a few folks from our church are going to start meeting together during the week. I’m really… REALLY… excited about it.

So let me encourage you, that if you’re trying to do life alone… STOP. If left to do this life by myself, I think I’d probably (definitely) self-destruct. Find a small group at your local church – if you can’t find one… START ONE. Seek out community and accountability, and start doing life together (you should probably read the book as well… so click on the link and buy it :)).

Happy Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

